New Jersey state parks and golf courses will reopen today, but please continue to follow social distancing guidelines. We are making progress to flatten the curve, but we must respect these guidelines to reduce the spread of the virus.
The White House announced that the Department of Health and Human Services will be distributing $12 billion to 395 hospitals across the country that have been hardest hit by the pandemic. 53 hospitals in New Jersey will receive $1,708,039,947. This funding was part of the $100 billion in the CARES Act Provider Relief Fund.
Governor Murphy announced this week the state will receive 550,000 new COVID-19 test kits, 750,000 swabs, 220,000 masks, 200,000 gowns, 1 million gloves, and 19,000 goggles.
The New Jersey Department of Human Services announced $6.3 million in funding to 21 counties to support home delivered meals and other food for older New Jerseyans.
New Jersey Department of Corrections, in partnership with Rutgers University Correctional Healthcare and Accurate Diagnostics Lab, has announced plans to provide COVID-19 tests to staff, inmates, and residents on-site at each of NJDOC’s facilities and halfway houses.
Governor Murphy relaxed in-person requirements for both the solemnization of marriage licenses for couples and attaining working papers for minors.
If you have questions about taxes or stimulus checks:
The distribution of federal stimulus checks has begun and will occur automatically with no action required for most people. Adults with annual incomes up to $75,000 will receive $1,200, plus another $500 per child. Some Americans earning more than $75,000 would also receive money if they meet certain qualifications. Click here to access the IRS’s online tool to track your payment.
Social Security beneficiaries who are not typically required to file tax returns will not need to file to receive a payment. Instead, payments will be automatically deposited into their bank accounts. If you do not file a federal tax return, click here for more information on how to receive a stimulus check.
If you are a Social Security beneficiary or receive Veterans Affairs benefits and didn’t file a tax return for 2018 or 2019, you have until May 5 to use the non-filer tool on the IRS website to receive the $500 payment per dependent child under 17.
The IRS has established a website to answer other questions about direct stimulus checks to taxpayers and to help taxpayers, businesses and others affected by the coronavirus. Click here for more information.
If you have questions about Small Business Assistance:
The Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) application process has resumed. Contact your local lender if you wish to apply.
Small Business Administration Resources for Businesses Affected by COVID-19
COVID-19/Coronavirus Information for New Jersey Businesses
If you have questions regarding Unemployment Insurance and paid sick leave:
New Jersey’s Department of Labor’s website on paid sick leave and Unemployment Insurance
Resources for homeowners and renters:
Information for renters and landlords can be found here.
Information for homeowners who have questions about mortgage payments is available here.
If you have questions about job opportunities:
Visit New Jersey’s Jobs Portal
Employers in critical industries should click here to submit information about openings with urgent hiring needs related to COVID- 19.
If you want to help:
The State of New Jersey welcomes offers from individuals and businesses that want to help the Garden State. Click here for a comprehensive list of ways to help.
Anyone who has personal protective equipment (PPE) they wish to donate like N95 respirators, face shields, protective goggles, surgical masks, or other protective equipment, click here.
If you know someone who needs food assistance, please visit this website for more information.
If you have medical training and want to volunteer, click here.
The best thing we can do during this difficult time is to avoid exposure to the virus, stay at home as much as possible, and avoid non-essential travel. If you have to go outside, keep your distance -- stay at least six feet away from others -- and wear a cloth face covering.
If you have questions, please do not hesitate to call my offices directly:
Middlesex County: 732-249-8892
Monmouth County: 732-571-1140